About

A media for DiYers, full on info on labs, those of open tinkering as well as those of university fablabs. A brand new website based on experimentation. Makery is a project in perpetual beta testing, operating in DiY mode, brick by brick.

Media of all labs

Makery is an online information media (newsletter, website, social networks) founded by Digital Art International in June 2014. It is led by Anne-Cécile Worms, hosted at Ekluz, 13 rue des Ecluses Saint-Martin, Paris 10th arrondissement. It aims to cover the dynamism and give out information on the emergence of a scene of labs, fablabs (fabrication laboratories, terminology born in the United States within the Medialab of MIT in 2001), hackerspaces (spaces self-managed by people wanting to divert technologies), medialabs, living labs (also known as third places, they encompass industry in processes of innovation and experimentation), biohacklabs (the scientific and bioinformatics version of hacklabs).

It is a media in DiY mode: with its small team, Makery progressively grows in an open, transparent and participative manner, following the principles of digital ethics born by the lab wave.

Team

The Makery project is supported by a small team (intending to grow!) brought together by Anne-Cécile Worms in the10th arrondissement of Paris.

Anne-Cécile Worms, managing director

Entrepreneur and editor, graduate of the “Institut d’études Politiques de Paris”, Anne-Cécile Worms, who co-founded her first start-up in electronic music in 1999, has been publishing MCD the Magazine of Digital Cultures since 2003 with special issues including Europe of medialabs, The Internet of Objects, Free culture, Net-art…, guides and books such as Art and Digital Culture(s), international panorama. She is an expert in digital arts for the French Institute. Founder and director of Digital Art International created in 2009, she sells the Digitalarti and Artlab brands in June 2013 to launch two new brands, Art2M (Art to Machine) and Makery. Art2M is specialised in the production and distribution of exclusive or tailor made digital works of art, connected objects and innovative design. In June 2014, she brings together the Makery founding team in order to create the media of all labs.

Aurélien Fache, programmer – @mathemagie

Aurélien Fache is a key person in the history of the French Internet. Having worked as a programmer in the early 2000s at Multimania, Lycos and Caramail, he took part in the creation of Dailymotion in 2004 (even though the video sharing website was still called Short TV), then co-founded the online media Owni (2009-2012) and also participated in Netvibes, a bookmark-sharing platform. He set up the APIdays for Faber Novel, an innovation agency. In October 2013 he joins the collective We love the Net that develops with Happy Trucs dreamlike connected objects. For Makery, he is in charge of all the technical great ideas and the IT deployment of the project.

Annick Rivoire, chief editor – @poptronicsfr

Journalist and critic, this new media specialist has followed its evolution for the daily newspaper Libération since the first appearance of the Web in 1995. In 2007, she launches Poptronics, an online media and cultural agitator in many events (Island-Cneai, Gamerz, Sonor, Nuits de l’Ososphère, ArtRock…). She provides the editorial design for exhibitions (Play Again, Imaginarium de Tourcoing, 2013, Do it Yourself, le labo des bricodeurs numériques, Imaginarium, 2012, MuseoGames, musée des Arts et métiers, 2010). She is in charge of editorial design and acts as chief editor for Makery.

Quentin Chevrier, content & community manager – @unquentin

Pure offshoot of the lab culture, he was a coordinator of the Artlab (creation lab dedicated to digital art, Paris), organised the hack machine events (2012-2014), gravitated slightly around interactive communication before finding his path in the tinkerer community. Jack of all trades and DiYer himself (he can handle an Aruindo kit), photographer and skier, Quentin provides content for Makery, gathers contacts, and generates atmospheres for communities. He is in charge of content and social networks (Twitter and Facebook).

Ada Fizir, marketing and communication manager

Ada Fizir graduated in info-com in Toulouse. In 2003 she joins Qualcomm (QCO-Nasdaq) as European marketing & communication executive where she specialises in corporate and financial communication until the end of 2011. Concurrently, she co-founds and directs the association Musiques & Cultures Digitales and is the publishing manager for the Magazine des Cultures Digitales. The association produces workshops on digital creation and fabrication, lead by new media artists. Ada Fizir signs an agreement between MCD and Ville de Paris in order to manage and lead the Ekluz cultural and digital factory in the 10th arrondissement of Paris as of the 1st of May 2014. At the end of 2013 she joins the Art2M team as marketing and communication manager. She is the initiator of the Makery project.

VNBC, artistic directors

VNBC, collective of freelance graphic designers, is in charge of the graphic design for Makery. Just the opposite of the large agencies where they earned their spurs, Victor Nioré and Benoît Champy assert their multidisciplinality with detachment and humour. Their 360° artistic direction work seduces the press and communication business for which transversality is henceforth the rule. VNBC also alternate mainstream and confidential projects such as VJ sets (real time visual performances) or interactive video set-ups.

Cherise Fong, correspondent in Tokyo, translator

Cherise worked in web start-ups in New York, Monaco and London before she became an independent journalist. Since then she has worked at CNN.com International in Hong Kong and contributed to MCD, Poptronics… For Makery, she brings news of labs and maker culture from Japan, while translating articles into English.

Carine Claude, journalist – @carine_claude

Carine worked for ten years in institutions before making a radical career change by choosing the path of a Professional Masters Degree in cultural journalism at Paris III university. She has been working as an independent journalist since 2003 for l’Express, la Tribune, Poptronics and from now on Makery.

Ewen Chardronnet, artist, writer – @ewenchardronnet

Ewen Chardronnet is an artist, journalist, writer and curator. Since 2000, he has been broadening his activities as an author and organizer of numerous intermedia productions, exhibitions and events planning. He directed the e-book Artisans Numériques («Digital Craftmen», Hyx, 2014).

Nathalie Ignaccolo, bilingual independent translator

Nathalie, Franco-English, created NathLuke, her translation company, in 2007 following ten years of work experience in sales and human resources in high tech industries (IT and Telecommunications) in London and the Paris region. She has a passion for horses and incidentally counts the French equestrian federation among her clients.

Tools


Robot controlled by Arduino. © Pierre Selim-Creative Commons

Sandbox and information on work progress, call for participation and the will to rely on a network of medialabs, hackerspaces and fablabs in order to get feedback: we want to work with the tools of the lab generation: preferably open source, mainly shared and efficient. The Makery newsletter is powered by Mailchimp (because it is the most efficient tool to manage multiple mailings on multiple platforms). The Makery.info website is hosted at OVH and powered by WordPress, the open source CMS that is also the most solid and international website publishing platform. The map of labs (under construction) is based on databases of hackerspaces and fablabs platforms and on our personal research. It relies on Open Street Map.

The economic model

The economic model of Makery is also under construction and subject to evolution. The Art2M company is financing the launch of Makery in complete independence. The search for public funding (French, European, International) will be supplemented by a reflection on the development of private partnerships and services offered to companies.

Présentation

Un média pour les bricodeurs, de l’info plein pot sur les labs, ceux de l’open bidouille comme ceux des fablabs d’universités. Un site tout nouveau, basé sur l’expérimentation. Makery est un projet sur le mode du Do it Yourself, une brique après l’autre.

Le média de tous les labs

Makery est un média d’information en ligne (newsletter, site web, réseaux sociaux) fondé par Digital Art International en juin 2014. Il est dirigé par Anne-Cécile Worms. Il a pour vocation de rendre compte du dynamisme et d’informer sur l’émergence d’une scène des labs, fablabs (laboratoires de fabrication, une terminologie née aux Etats-Unis au sein du Medialab du MIT en 2001), hackerspaces (des espaces autogérés par des personnes désireuses de détourner les technologies), médialabs, living labs (appelés aussi tiers lieux, ils embrassent l’industrie dans ces processus d’innovation et d’expérimentation numérique ouverts), biohacklabs (la version scientifique et bioinformatique des hacklabs).

C’est un média en mode DiY: Makery se construit progressivement en mode ouvert, transparent et participatif, suivant les principes d’éthique numérique portés par la vague des labs.

L’équipe

Le projet Makery est porté par une petite équipe (qui a vocation à s’agrandir !), réunie par Anne-Cécile Worms à Paris.

Anne-Cécile Worms, directrice

Entrepreneure et éditrice, diplômée de l’Institut d’études Politiques de Paris, Anne-Cécile Worms, qui a cofondé sa première start-up sur les musiques électroniques en 1999, publie depuis 2003 le Magazine des Cultures Digitales MCD, avec des numéros thématiques dont L’Europe des médialabs, L’Internet des Objets, La culture libre, le Net-art…., des guides et livres comme Art et Culture(s) Numérique(s), panorama international. Elle est experte en arts numériques pour l’Institut français. Fondatrice et directrice de Digital Art International créée en 2009, elle cède les marques Digitalarti et Artlab en juin 2013 pour lancer en 2014 deux nouvelles marques, Art2M (Art to Machine) et Makery. Art2M est spécialisée dans la production et la diffusion d’œuvres d’art numérique exclusives ou sur-mesure, d’objets connectés et design innovant. En juin 2014, elle réunit l’équipe fondatrice de Makery pour créer le média de tous les labs.

Aurélien Fache, développeur – @mathemagie

Aurélien Fache est un personnage clé dans l’histoire de l’internet français. Après avoir été développeur au début des années 2000 chez Multimania, Lycos et Caramail, il a participé à la création de Dailymotion en 2004 (alors même que le site de partage vidéo s’appelait encore Short TV), puis cofondé le média en ligne Owni (2009-2012) ou encore participé à la plate-forme de partage de signets Netvibes et monté les APIdays pour l’agence d’innovation Faber Novel. Depuis octobre 2013, il a rejoint le collectif We love the Net qui développe avec Happy Trucs des objets connectés oniriques. Pour Makery, il est responsable de toutes les bonnes idées techniques et du déploiement informatique du projet.

Annick Rivoire, rédactrice en chef – @poptronicsfr

Journaliste critique, cette spécialiste des nouveaux médias a suivi leur évolution pour le quotidien Libération, depuis l’apparition du Web en 1995. En 2007, elle lance Poptronics, un média en ligne et un agitateur culturel dans de nombreuses manifestations (Island-Cneai, Gamerz, Sonor, Nuits de l’Ososphère, ArtRock…). Elle assure la conception éditoriale d’expositions (Ultima, Lieu unique, Nantes 2014, Play Again, Imaginarium de Tourcoing, 2013, Do it Yourself, le labo des bricodeurs numériques, Imaginarium, 2012, MuseoGames, musée des Arts et métiers, 2010). Elle est en charge de la conception éditoriale et de la rédaction en chef de Makery.

Quentin Chevrier, content et community manager – @unquentin

Il a été coordinateur du Artlab (un labo de création dédié à l’art numérique, Paris), a co-organisé les événements hack machine (2012-2014), a légèrement gravité dans la communication interactive avant de trouver sa voie dans la communauté des bricodeurs. Touche-à-tout et bidouilleur lui-même (il sait se débrouiller d’un kit Arduino), photographe et skieur, Quentin est pour Makery un fournisseur de contenus, un ramasseur de contacts, et un ambianceur de communautés. Il est en charge des contenus et des réseaux sociaux (Twitter et Facebook).

Ada Fizir, directrice marketing et communication

Diplômée en info-com à Toulouse, Ada Fizir intègre en 2003 le poste de responsable marketing & communication Europe chez Qualcomm (QCO-Nasdaq), où elle s’est spécialisée dans la communication corporate et financière, jusqu’à fin 2011. En parallèle, elle cofonde et préside l’association Musiques & Cultures Digitales, et est directrice de la publication du Magazine des Cultures Digitales. L’association produit des ateliers sur la création et la fabrication numérique, animés par des artistes nouveaux médias. Ada Fizir signe une convention entre MCD et la Ville de Paris pour gérer et animer la fabrique culturelle numérique des Ekluz, dans le 10e arrondissement, à compter du 1er mai 2014. Fin 2013, elle rejoint l’équipe d’Art2M en tant que directrice marketing et communication et est à l’initiative du projet Makery.

VNBC, directeurs artistiques 

VNBC, collectif de graphistes freelance, est en charge du design graphique de Makery. A l’opposé des grosses agences où ils ont fait leurs armes, Victor Nioré et Benoît Champy revendiquent leur pluridisciplinalité avec détachement et humour. Leur travail de direction artistique à 360° séduit le milieu de la presse et de la communication pour qui la transversalité est désormais la règle. VNBC fait également alterner projets mainstream et confidentiels comme des set VJ (performances visuelles en temps réel) ou des installations vidéos interactives.

Cherise Fong, correspondante à Tokyo, traductrice

Cherise a travaillé dans des start-ups web à New York, Monaco et Londres avant de devenir journaliste indépendante. Elle collabore notamment à CNN.com International, MCD, Poptronics… Pour Makery, elle donne des nouvelles des labs et de la culture maker au Japon et assure également une grosse partie des traductions en anglais.

Carine Claude, journaliste – @carine_claude

Diplômée de l’École du Louvre et d’un master 2 en journalisme, Carine travaillé pendant 10 ans dans des institutions culturelles. Elle a été directrice de l’information de l’agence de presse Art Media Agency et travaille depuis 2013 en tant que journaliste indé pour l’Express, la Tribune, Poptronics, MCD et désormais Makery.

Ewen Chardronnet, artiste, auteur – @ewenchardronnet

Depuis 2000, Ewen Chardronnet multiplie ses activités d’auteur, producteur et organisateur de nombreuses productions et expositions intermédias. Il a dirigé le e-book Artisans Numériques (Hyx, 2014). Il a rejoint l’équipe de Makery à temps partiel en janvier 2014.

Nathalie Ignaccolo, traductrice indépendante bilingue

Nathalie, franco-anglaise, a créé son entreprise de traduction NathLuke en 2007, après dix ans d’expérience professionnelle à Londres et dans la région parisienne dans les télécoms et l’informatique, côté ventes et ressources humaines. Cette passionnée de cheval compte notamment parmi ses clients la Fédération française d’équitation.

Les outils

Robot contrôlé par Arduino. © Pierre Selim-Creative Commons

Bac à sable et informations sur l’avancée de nos travaux, appel à participation et volonté de s’appuyer sur un réseau de médialabs, hackerspaces et fablabs pour faire remonter l’information : les outils avec lesquels nous voulons travailler sont ceux de la lab-génération: open source de préférence, partagés et efficaces essentiellement. La newsletter Makery est propulsée par Mailchimp (parce que c’est l’outil le plus efficace pour gérer des envois multiples sur de multiples plate-formes). Le site Makery.info est hébergé chez OVH et propulsé par WordPress, le CMS open source qui est aussi la plate-forme d’édition de sites internet la plus solide et internationale. La carte des labs a été conçue à partir des bases de données de plateformes d’hackerspaces, de fablabs et de nos recherches personnelles et s’appuie sur Openstreetmap.

Le modèle économique

Le modèle économique de Makery est lui aussi en construction. Makery a décidé de ne pas s’appuyer sur la publicité tout en proposant ses contenus gratuitement. La société Art2M, qui a financé le lancement de Makery en toute indépendance, a reçu en octobre 2015 le soutien d’AXA Strategic Ventures, qui investit 500 000€ dans la start-up.

Makery mise sur la médiation entre makers prototypeurs adeptes du hack et entreprises souhaitant se frotter à l’innovation open source. Et développe un ensemble de services (conseil, ateliers, prétotypage, conférences, tous les détails par ici…). LeWeb, l’Adami, ERDF, la BNP, Publicis Conseil, Exit ou encore le ministère des Affaires étrangères nous ont déjà fait confiance.